+ Reply to thread

Thread: New Englanders and Their Stupid Tires

Registered
    Mar 2009

Default New Englanders and Their Stupid Tires

Just in case you're not in the northeast, or midwest, the first big storm of the season is coming through today. Which has me disgruntled because I'm going to have to go out in it.

It's not that I'm worried about my ability to drive in snow. I've been doing it for over 20 years, and the last time that the snow tripped me up Ronald Reagan was still President. You drop your speed by 5-10 mph, and look a little further ahead for potential trouble, and you're golden.

After the first storm of the season, 99% of the drivers on the road here will all remember how to do that.

Today, however, it's going to feel as through fully half the drivers out there are panicking because they've never seen this white stuff, have no idea how to compensate for it, and just will be getting road-ragey because everyone sane is slowing down.

The only explanation for this phenomenon, which I've seen in every state in the Northeast, and in several in the midwest, is that back in April or May, everyone took off their All-Weather radials, and put on their stupid tires on their cars. And far too many of the people out there have refused to take them back off.

There are going to be tons of stupid accidents today, annoying delays, and people driving crazy, all because they've still got their stupid tires on. It can't be because they're actual idiots, can it? I mean - 95% of them have seen and driven in snow before, and (see above) there's no great hidden secret for driving in the stuff. It can't be because there are too goddamned many idiots on the road!:Shake::Shake:

aka ivan the not-quite-as-terrible ivan astikov's avatar
    Registered
    Feb 2009

Yeah, "FUCK YOU!" stupid snow, and even stupider drivers! We've all had enough of you. :Shake:
    To sleep, perchance to experience amygdalocortical activation and prefrontal deactivation.

Registered