+ Reply to thread

Thread: Does anyone have any good, relatively easy, vegetarian recipes?

Registered
    Mar 2009

Default Does anyone have any good, relatively easy, vegetarian recipes?

The weekend after next my nephew (he's an adult, fwiw) is coming up to visit me, and the last time we spoke, he mentioned having become a vegetarian. One of the two nights he'll be here I've invited some other people over for dinner, and I'm kind of perplexed as to what I should make. I'm an unrepentant meat eater, and I pretty much everything I know how to make involves meat in some way. I know I could just ask him what he'd like, but it's usually a chore to get him to actually pick something.

Sp does anyone have any recipes/ideas? I'm not a cooking novice, exactly, but I'd rather it be something that isn't too labor intensive.

Registered
    Mar 2009

I've done the vegetarian (and vegan) thing before and while I followed a lot of fancy vegetarian recipes in the beginning, I quickly realized how not a big deal it was and just made regular food sans meat.

Easy ones are:

Spaghetti, with meatballs cooked in a separate pan for the meat eaters.

Tacos, with vegetarian refried beans flavored the same as you would the meat. Again, you can have meat in a separate pan for others.

Stirfries are usually pretty easy to make vegetarian. If everyone is okay eating mushrooms, they help make it feel less like something is "missing." There's tofu, too, but I hate the stuff so I can't give any advice on how to use it.

Soy sauce and MSG do a lot to add that "umami" flavor that's lacking from a lot vegetarian foods. Cheese (assuming he eats it) and caramelized onions do the same thing.

I'll go through my recipes tomorrow to see if I can find some to share. I would suggest asking him what he likes, though. I've found some people can be very picky about vegetables even when they're vegetarians, which severely limits your options.