+ Reply to thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Ask the 80s Music Buff

Elephant
    Registered
    Feb 2009

Default Ask the 80s Music Buff

So last night in chat, we were talking about 80s music, and by the time I went to bed, I was feeling pretty old. But I genuinely love 80s music, and I know a lot about it.

Let me give you some of my bona fides first. I was born in 1971 and graduated high school in 1989. I remember the birth of MTV. As a college student, I did a show that someone called "NPR meets the 80s." I still have a huge interest in it, too, and but for the rights issues, I'd love to do a regular podcast.

I'm happy to ask any and all questions.
    There is more than one way to burn a book. And the world is full of people running about with lit matches. -- Ray Bradbury's "Coda"

Oliphaunt The Original An Gadaí's avatar
    Registered
    Mar 2009

Default Re: Ask the 80s Music Buff

Was there significant opposition to new romantic/electronic music in general when it started becoming popular?

Elephant
    Registered
    Feb 2009

Not really, no. In fact, many New Romantic artists saw a good bit of airplay on MTV. I can't say if there was much hand-wringing on the part of the Baby Boomers mourning the loss of their beloved music, but from a Gen X perspective, this was our music, not our parents'.
    There is more than one way to burn a book. And the world is full of people running about with lit matches. -- Ray Bradbury's "Coda"

Registered
    Feb 2009