+ Reply to thread

Thread: POTUS educational background

Oliphaunt
    Registered
    Apr 2015

Default POTUS educational background

Who was the first POTUS to have the modern educational experience? Modern= enter kindergarten in a school at age 5, graduate from HS at 18.

Elen síla lumenn' omentielvo What Exit?'s avatar
    Registered
    Feb 2009

So many of them came from very wealthy families it might turn out to be as late as Harry S. Truman. I'll do a little checking.

So how technical do you want to be? Kindergarten didn't become fairly normal until the late 1880s. Many President had home tutoring as again, wealthy families. Abraham Lincoln was largely self-taught as a different example.

ETA: William Taft probably did K-12 in public schools, I forgot the Tafts were not wealthy. His mother was a strong believer in Education, so if Kindergarten was available he probably would have been sent. Problems is there is an excellent chance there was no Kindergarten available.

Theodore Roosevelt had a lot of home tutoring, so I know he is out. Though NYC had kindergarten earlier than most of the US.
    Last edited by What Exit?; 04 Nov 2018 at 12:15 PM.

Registered
    Feb 2009

This gets better, Louisa Taft, President Taft's mother, started the Kindergarten movement in Ohio. I can't confirm the year, but there is an excellent chance William Howard Taft is the answer to your question.

Oliphaunt
    Registered
    Apr 2015

That’s interesting information! I basically wondered who was the 1st POTUS who wasn’t homeschooled/self taught.

Registered
    Feb 2009

Quote Originally posted by Erictelevision View post
    That’s interesting information! I basically wondered who was the 1st POTUS who wasn’t homeschooled/self taught.